My Favorite Books of the 2010’s

Wow, what a decade it’s been! the 2010’s (is that what we are calling them?) were jam packed full of amazing movies, tv shows and of course books. I went through my Goodreads and found all the books from the past decade that I gave 5 stars and from there I chose my favorite Book and Graphic from each year. Behold! My List!

Image result for irredeemable vol 2Image result for MOcking jay

2010

Favorite Book: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

I was late to the game with this series but when I discovered it I devoured it. I highly recommend the whole series because it’s well written and a page turner.

Runner up: Stuff Christians Like by Jonathon Acuff

Favorite Graphic: Irredeemable, Vol. 2 by Mark Waid

You are going to see a lot of this series on this list. This series follows a superman -like character named “The Plutonian” as he suddenly gets fed up with everyone’s crap and goes from “Imma save the world” to “Imma destroy the world.” Great cast of characters and great story.

Image result for irredeemable vol 7Image result for irredeemable vol 6Image result for The keeper of lost cause

 

2011

Favorite Book: The Keeper of Lost Causes by Jussi Adler-Olsen

The 2010’s were the decade that I realized I love Thrillers, Murder Mysteries and Serial Killers and this book had a lot to do with it. This is the first book in the Department Q series by Danish author, Adler-Olsen. It will have you on the edge of your seat and you won’t be able to put it down. I launched straight into the rest of the series after reading it and I haven’t look back. I highly recommend the audio book because the narrator has a Danish accent.

Favorite Graphic: Irredeemable Vol. 6-7 (4 stars)

I don’t have any 5 star graphics for 2011 apparently so I’m mentioning these volumes which each got 4 stars. Again, it’s a great series. I recommend it if you want something super hero but don’t want to figure out where to start reading something like Superman or Batman (because it’s confusing!). This is one run you can just start at volume 1 and go!

 

Image result for irredeemable vol 8Image result for the stand stephen king

2012

Favorite Book: The Stand by Stephen King

I never thought I would be a Stephen King fan because horror is not my wheelhouse, but after reading Salem’s Lot and loving it, I wanted to try another King. I had picked up this book many years ago at a thrift store and had always wanted to read it but I am bad at reading long books. I ended up listening to the audio book for this and the

Image result for irredeemable vol 9

narrator is great! If you can make it through 37 cds I promise you it’s worth it. This is one story where I didn’t mind how many characters there were and how many stories we followed. Fair warning, it is dark and a couple times graphic and  just gross but I thought the overall story was good enough to slog through the not great stuff.

Favorite Graphic: Irredeemable 8-9

Nothing new to add here. On Goodreads my review of Vol 8 said “Very Good! So much happening!” So…do with that what you will.

 

 

Image result for batman gotham by gaslightImage result for the husbands secret

 

2013

Favorite Book: The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

I read a lot of really good books in 2013 so this was a tough decision. This book is just really good. It has romance, suspense, thrills, laughs and tears. Liane Moriarty is excellent at crafting her books by following several characters and then bringing their stories together in heart pounding ways. Highly recommend!

Close runner’s up for this year include: The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman, Cinder by Marissa Meyer, Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell and the next installments in the Dept Q series by Jussi Adler Olsen: A Conspiracy of Faith and The Purity of Vengence

Favorite Graphic: Batman: Gotham by Gaslight by Brian Augustyn

A Batman story in the Victorian Era that deals with dirigibles and Jack the Ripper! I love this time period and adding Batman made it a lot of fun. My Goodreads review says : I could read 20 more of this.”

 

Image result for aquaman throne of atlantis vol 3Image result for big little lies book

 

2014

Favorite Book: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

This was actually the first Moriarty I read and it really is fantastic. It deals with so much but it is so well written. This is probably my favorite Moriarty book even though most of her books are at least 4 or 5 stars for me. Definitely worthy of the hype and the HBO show is worth the watch too.

Favorite Graphic: Aquaman, Vol. 3: Throne of Atlantis by Geoff Johns

I liked this volume because it features a lot of the Justice League in a Aquaman centered story. This whole series is pretty great if you looking for more Aquaman in your life.

 

Image result for giant days vol 1Image result for the girl on the train book

 

2015

Favorite Book: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Is it predictable and cliche to have this as my favorite book of 2015? Probably. Do I care? No, because this book is freaking great. I imagine it would be hard to read and appreciate now because there are a million books that tried to do what it did, but for those of us who got in on the ground floor, it was a thrill ride worthy of 5 stars. Don’t watch the movie but definitely read the book.

Favorite Graphic: Giant Days, Vol. 1 by John Allison

And so begins the reign of Giant Days! This series is fantastic. Probably my favorite of all time…maybe….Fables is really great too….Anyway! This series takes place in the UK and follows 3 friends on their journey through college. The dialogue is so witty and laugh out loud funny. Seriously, some of the funniest stuff I’ve ever read. If you are looking for a fun graphic that is not super hero related then pick up Giant Days. The last trades are coming out soon so you can binge the whole thing!

 

Image result for giant days vol 3Image result for the magnolia story

 

2016

Favorite Book: The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines

I also discovered in the 2010’s that I don’t hate biographies and memoirs, I’ve just been reading the wrong one’s in the wrong ways! The best way to read books like these is to listen to them on audio. Often the authors read their books and that makes it even better. This book is incredibly inspiring. I have loved the Gaines for a while now but hearing their story and all they went through leading up to their success just makes me appreciate them more.

Favorite Graphic: Giant Days, Vol 3 by John Allison

Again, great series! “Night be with you.”

 

Image result for giant days vol 5Image result for the scarred woman

 

2017

Favorite Book: The Scarred Woman by Jussi Adler Olsen

Yes yes more Adler Olsen. This one I actually read as soon as it came out! Another great edition to the series. Starts a little slow but really picks up and Adler Olsen weaves together all the threads it such crazy ways.

Favorite Graphic: Giant Days, Vol. 5 by John Allison

“The old gods are dead!”

 

Image result for where the crawdads singImage result for circe bookImage result for assassination classroom vol 21

2018

Favorite Book: Where the Crawdads Sing by Deliah Owens and Circe by Madeline Miller

I’m sorry but I couldn’t choose. I just couldn’t ok?!?! Both of these books were so freaking good! I couldn’t put either of them down. Actually, I listened to Circe so I guess I could’t stop listening. Circe is great because it weaves together all the Greek myths you learn in high school through the story of one woman. It is incredibly written and a definite page turner. I recommend it if you love Greek myths but don’t want to read a dry nonfiction book.

Where the Crawdads Sing has dominated New York Times Best Sellers list for 68 weeks as of the writing of this blog and it has earned every second of it’s time there. This book is a tour de force. I picked it up for the promise of a murder mystery but I stayed great writing. I was never once bored and my good reads review says I got “all the feels”. This book is simply great.

Runner’s up for this year include: The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James and Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney.

Favorite Graphic: Assassination Classroom Vol. 21 by Yusei Matsui

I love this whole wacky manga series about a squid monster who destroys half the moon and then takes over teaching a middle school class how to be assassins. This was the last volume in the series and I got very emotional reading it.

Runner’s up include: Herding Cats by Sarah Anderson

 

Image result for giant days vol 11Image result for master and apprentice star wars

2019

Favorite Book: Master and Apprentice by Claudia Gray

This was my only 5 star book of 2019. What really made this book was the audio. Jonathon Davis is the narrator and he seamlessly jump between a Qui-Gon Jinn voice and Obi-Wan voice and they both sound like the original actors. Its incredible. I usually do not read Star Wars books (though I love Star Wars) but this book is really great.

Favorite Graphic: Giant Days, Vol 11, by John Allison

What? More Giant Days?! Yes

 

And there you have it! A decade of favorite books complete!

Share your thoughts on these books and tell me your favorite books of the decade below. Also below are all my 5 stars for each year.

I’m excited to see what the roaring 20’s will bring! Happy New Year everyone!

2010

  • Irredeemable, Vol. 2: Mark Waid
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  • Stuff Christians Like by Jonathon Acuff

2011

  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me by Mindy Kaling
  • The Keeper of Lost Causes by Jussi Adler Olsen
  • The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks
  • Star Wars: Attack of the Clones by R.A. Salvatore 

2012

  • Irredeemable Vol 8 by Mark Waid
  • Irredeemable Vol. 10 by Mark Waid 
  • The Stand by Stephen King
  • Harvest of Rubies by Tessa Afshar

2013

  • The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty
  • A Conspiracy of Faith by Jussi Adler-Olsen
  • The Purity of Vengeance by Jussi Adler Olsen
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
  • Infinite Crisis by Geoff Johns
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

2014

  • One More Things: Stories and Other Stories by B.J.Novak
  • Yes Please by Amy Poehler
  • The Crossover by Kwame Alexander
  • All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
  • Annihilation by Jeff VanerMeer
  • Big LIttle Lies by Liane Moriarty
  • Aquaman, Vol. 3: Throne of Atlantis by Geoff Johns

2015

  • Chi’s Sweet Home Vol. 1 by Kanata Konami 
  • The Hanging Girl by Jussi Adler Olsen
  • Ms. Marvel Vol 2: Generation Why by G.  Willow WIlson
  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  • Cress by Marissa Meyer
  • LumberJanes: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson, Grace and Faith Hicks
  • Giant Days, Vol. 1 by John Allison
  • Assassination Classroom, Vol 4: Time to Face the Unbelievable
  • Ant-Man:Second -Chance Man by Nick Spencer
  • Bob’s Burgers, Vol. 1 by Chad Brewster

2016

  • Why Not Me by Mindy Kaling
  • The Complete Chi’s Sweet Home Vol 2 by Kanata Konami
  • The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines
  • Jughead Vol. 1 by Chip Zdarsky
  • Archie, Vol. 2 by Mark Waid
  • Adulthood Is a Myth by Sarah Anderson
  • Assassination Classroom, Vol 8: Time for Oppurtunity by Yusei Matsui
  • Assassination Classroom Vol 12 by Yusei Matsui
  • Assassination Classroom Vol 13 by Yusei Matsui
  • Giant Days Vol. 3 by John Allison

2017

  • Dis Mem Ber and Other Stories of Mystery and Suspense by Joyce Carol Oats
  • The Scarred Woman by Jussi Adler-Olsen
  • Assassination Classroom Vol. 16
  • Assassination Classroom Vol 19
  • Giant Days Vol. 4 by John Allison
  • Giant Days Vol 5 by John Allison
  • Wonder Woman Vol. 1: The Lies by Greg Rucka
  • Into the Water by Paula Hawkins
  • Big Mushy Happy Lump by Sarah Anderson

2018

  • The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James
  • Circe by Madeline Miller
  • Where the Crawdads Sing by Deliah Owens
  • Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney
  • Herding Cats by Sarah Anderson
  • Assassination Classroom Vol 20 by Yusei Matsui
  • Assass ination Classroom Vol. 21 by Yusei Matsui

2019

  • Master and Apprentice by Claudia Gray

Leave a comment