First Blog Post Excitement!

I have been wanting to start a blog for a long time and now I’ve finally done it! Now I just have to think of things write about. That’s the hard part. The summer has not been particularly eventful so far. I have been working through my summer reading list which is always a difficult task to accomplish but it’s going alright so far. I have read Persuasion by Jane Austen, The Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry and now I’m working on The Great Hunt by Robert Jordan. Unfortunately the part I’m at in The Great Hunt is not holding my attention so I am not making much progress. I am also reading Anxious for Nothing by John MacArthur and The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis. They are all different enough that I can read them at the same time. I am really enjoying Anxious for Nothing. As someone who is constantly facing anxiety, stress and fear it has really been giving me some good things to think about.

One quote which really hit me from the book was by Jay Adams. He said ” God wants you to seek Him first, and think about the problem of fear secondly. that is why when speaking of worry ( a lesser form of fear), in Matthew 6:33 He commands ‘ Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness.’ If you put anything else first – even the desire to rid yourself of a terrifying fear- you will discover that you will fail to achieve either goal. God will not take second place, even to a legitimate concern to be free of fear.” After I read that I realized I have been going about everything that wrong way. Yes I had been praying to God asking “Please Lord take my fear” but I wasn’t putting my relationship with Him first I was putting getting rid of my fear first. The relationship has to be there before anything else can happen. Real change comes when you get close to God. 

More Summer Musings to Come!

Leave a comment